Low Income Housing Tax Credits & Energy Efficiency in Michigan, 2017

Michigan's 2017 Qualified Allocation Plan (QAP) includes requirments and incentives for energy efficiency. 

All projects applying for and receiving LIHTC will be required to incorporate one of three available MSHDA Affordable Green Standards: New Construction; Acquisition/Rehabilitation; and Historic/Adaptive Reuse. 

Third Party Standards

MSHDA gives points for projects that go beyond MSHDA Affordable Green Standards. Third party standards include:

Enterprise Green Communities

•Mandatory Green Communities Criteria (based on location and building type) 

•Construction Mandatory +35 Optional 

•Rehabilitation1 Mandatory +30 Optional

•Rehabilitation1 Mandatory +30 Optional

National Green Building Standard (NGBS):

•NGBS Bronze 

•or Emerald

U.S. Green Building Council LEED Certification:


•Silver, Gold, or Platinum

Contributed By: 
National Housing Trust

Other Items of Interest