Low-Income Housing Tax Credits & Seniors in North Dakota, 2018

The 2018 North Dakota Qualified Allocation Plan (QAP) provides incentives for projects that designate housing units for seniors.

Senior Incentives 

Projects that provide Permanent Supportive Housing can receive between 5 and 20 points.

Projects such as those where low-income units are set aside and rented to persons with special needs will receive up to 11 points. For purposes of this scoring category, special needs populations include:

  • Persons suffering from chronic or persistent mental illness;
  • Persons suffering from chronic chemical dependency;
  • Persons with disabilities (physical and/or developmental);
  • Individuals or families who are experiencing long-term homeless, or at significant risk of long term homelessness;
  • The frail elderly, defined as a person, 62 years of age or older, who are unable to perform one or more “activities of daily living” without help. Activities of daily living comprise walking, eating, bathing, grooming, dressing, transferring, and home management activities.

10 percent of the units - 5 points

15 percent of the units - 8 points

20 percent of the units - 11 points

Housing for People 55 and Over - 8 points

Projects that are designed for and marketed to households consisting of individuals 55 years of age and over and include a community room with kitchen facilities for the use of the tenants of the project at no charge will receive 8 points. The marketing plan must be consistent with Fair Housing requirements for 55 and over housing.

Contributed By: 
National Housing Trust

Other Items of Interest