Low-Income Housing Tax Credits & Sustainable Development in Ohio, 2018-19


Ohio's 2018-19 Qualified Allocation Plan (QAP) includes green building threshold criteria and point incentives for sustainable development.

Green Standards 

Applicant must submit evidence of final certification from a HERS rater or otherwise qualified and licensed professional as approved by OHFA at submission of IRS Form 8609 (8609). All applications shall meet the minimum design requirements, including green standards, set forth in the Design and Architectural Standards, as well as any additional environmental commitments made for competitive consideration.

Phase I Environmental Site Assessment

The application shall include a Phase I Environmental Site Assessment for all single-site developments at application. OHFA reserves the right to reject any sites indicated to have environmental problems or hazards. Developments receiving an allocation of HTCs must submit a Phase I ESA valid in accordance with the most current ASTM Standard. The Phase I ESA report must be dated within six months prior to the application deadline. However, if the Phase I ESA report is dated between six months and one year prior to the application deadline, the applicant may submit an update to the report at final application (Competitive HTC applications only). If the Phase I ESA report is dated over one year prior to the application deadline, the applicant will submit a new and complete Phase I ESA report. Scattered site developments may submit a Mini-Phase 1 compliant with current OHFA standards at proposal application and a full Phase I ESA at final application for all sites represented in the application.

Utility Allowance Information 

The application shall include utility allowance information consistent with the requirements of Section 42 of the IRC, IRS Regulation 1.42-10 and OHFA?s Utility Allowance Policy. Applicants may refer to the OHFA Utility Allowance policy for guidance on methods available to calculate utility allowances for various project types.

For properties with OHFA-awarded HOME funds committed on or after August 23, 2013, the Public Housing Authority estimate or other estimates that are not project-specific cannot be used for HOME units. Housing Credit Gap Financing applicants must review those program requirements and the Utility Allowance Policy for further information. OHFA will accept the following utility allowance methods and must approve these methods:

- Utility Company Estimates

- HUD Utility Schedule Model

- Engineer’s Energy Consumption Model, calculated by a properly licensed engineer or qualified professional

Developers can receive 10 points for any of the following criteria for a maximum of 30 total points. These include:

Green: developments that meet the green building standards outlined in the 2015 Enterprise Green Communities Criteria, Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design (LEED) Certification by the U.S. Green Building Council, or ICC 700 National Green Building Standards (NGBS) by Home Innovation Research Labs (formerly the NAHB Research Center) and that successfully achieve program certification for the proposed development. Evidence of certification is required at 8609.

Contributed By: 
National Housing Trust

Other Items of Interest